Lloyd Rees Award for Urban Design, NSW Architecture Awards 2020;
Commendation for Public Architecture, NSW Architecture Awards 2020

Light Line Social Square is the line-wide artwork for the 8 Metro Northwest stations from Cherrybook to Tallawong. The following elements are embedded in the design of each station.
The Urban Groves remember the distinctive geometry of the region’s historic orchards. Agricultural order is ‘reconstructed’ in the 8 stations. The grid of the orchard becomes the grid of the grove, embedding memory and legibility into the geometry and scale of the landscape.
The Social Spheres are sculptural furniture elements within the Urban Groves composed of coloured cast aluminium plates inlaid into spherical or cylindrical concrete forms, referencing the regions historical orchards including patterns of a citrus flower, fruit, tree and field.
The Terrace Lines are glazed ceramic tiles inlayed in intermittent lines along the length of the retaining walls at 3 stations, reinforcing the colour and rhythm of the terraced Urban Groves that frame the open-cut station platforms.
The transparent coloured glazing of the escalators, lift and stairs, make up the Colourways element, a signature line -wide element at the 8 stations. The ever-changing colours frame the transition from street, to plaza, to concourse, to platform - guiding the passenger’s journey.
The Skylight Lanterns are illuminating and illuminated sculptural elements station wide, fusing art, science, architecture, engineering, landscape and lighting.
The Light Screen glazed facades at the elevated station of Kellyville and Rouse Hill, give monumental scale to Light Line Social Square’s ‘palette’ of light, colour & time in their grand concourse spaces.
Finally, Light Line is a line-wide illuminated artwork installed along the length of each platform. Each side of the platform comprises the colour of the station, and the colour of the ensuing station. In this way, the platform-long, network-wide, illuminated, coloured thread stitches together the 8 new stations of North West Metro.

Location North West Metro stations - Cherrybrook, Castle Hill, Hills Showground, Norwest, Bella Vista, Kellyville, Rouse Hill, Tallawong, Sydney, Australia
Medium Transparent coloured glass, cast aluminium, concrete, glazed tiles, paving, mist, LED light, trees and flowering plants.
Client CPB John Holland as part of Northwest Rapid Transit
Awards Lloyd Rees Award for Urban Design, NSW Architecture Awards 2020; Commendation for Public Architecture, NSW Architecture Awards 2020
Collaborators McGregor Westlake Architecture and Hassell
Team Artists: Michaelie Crawford, Turpin Crawford Studio, Peter McGregor, McGregor Westlake Architecture in collaboration with Ross de le Motte and the Hassell design team. Turpin Crawford Studio team: Jennifer Turpin, Anna Ewald-Rice, Rupert Trengrove; McGregor Westlake Architecture Team: Wes Grunsell, Tina Chow,Isabella Spiedel, Alex Rink; Bruce Slorach, Ingrid van der Meulen - Deuce Design; Fiona Robbe Landscape Architects; Dirk Slotboom, Michael Salis - Waterforms International; Jeremy Sparks, Konrad Hartmann - Event Engineering
Photographers Ian Hobbs Media, Brett Boardman Photography, Rusty Goat Media, Mark Syke Photography